1. Media Space

  2. Press Releases

Three award-winning NFB films screening at the 2022 Victoria Film Festival, February 4 to 13. Lineup includes Someone Like Me, co-directed by Sean Horlor—raised in Victoria—and Steve J. Adams.


January 7, 2022 – Vancouver – National Film Board of Canada (NFB)

Three award-winning National Film Board of Canada (NFB) productions will be presented at the 2022 Victoria Film Festival (VFF), taking place February 4 to 13, both in-person at The Vic Theatre and online across British Columbia.

Someone Like Me, directed by Sean Horlor and Steve J. Adams (80 min)
Victoria premiere
Press kit: mediaspace.nfb.ca/epk/someone-like-me

Someone Like Me follows the parallel journeys of Drake, a gay asylum seeker from Uganda, and a group of strangers from Vancouver’s queer community who are tasked with supporting his resettlement in Canada. Together, they embark on a year-long quest for personal freedom, revealing how in a world where one must constantly fight for the right to exist, survival itself becomes a victory.

Sean Horlor and Steve J. Adams are a filmmaking team based in Vancouver. Sean was raised in Victoria.


  • Rogers Audience Award for Canadian Feature Documentary, Hot Docs, 2021
  • Grand Prize Alternative Spirit Award – Documentary, Flickers’ Rhode Island International Film Festival, 2021

Dear Audrey, directed by Jeremiah Hayes (90 min)
Western Canada premiere
Co-produced by Cineflix Media and the NFB
Press kit: mediaspace.nfb.ca/epk/dear-audrey

Acclaimed Canadian activist-filmmaker Martin Duckworth has devoted his life to peace and justice. But now he’s put down his camera to fight for the most important cause he’s ever faced. While caring for his wife through the final stages of Alzheimer’s disease, Martin’s love deepens as he looks back on an epic life and career.

Jeremiah Hayes is a director, editor and writer in Montreal, most noted as co-director, co-writer and editor of Reel Injun (Rezolution Pictures/NFB).

Award: People’s Choice Award, RIDM – Montreal International Documentary Festival, 2021

Meneath: The Hidden Island of Ethics, directed by Terril Calder (19 min)
Victoria premiere
Press kit: mediaspace.nfb.ca/epk/meneath

Meneath: The Hidden Island of Ethics dives into the innate contrasts between the Seven Deadly Sins (Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Sloth, Wrath, Pride and Envy) and the Seven Sacred Teachings (Love, Respect, Wisdom, Courage, Truth, Honesty and Humility), as embodied in the life of a Métis Baby Girl. Convinced by Jesus that she’s soiled and destined for Hell, Baby Girl is affirmed by Nokomis’s teachings, which fill her with strength and pride and put her on a path towards healing.

One of the foremost Métis media artists practising in Canada today, Terril Calder is a multi-disciplinary creator born in Fort Frances, Ontario, and currently living in Toronto.


  • Special Mention – Canadian Film Institute Award for Best Canadian Animation, Ottawa International Animation Festival, 2021
  • Audience Award – Best Canadian Short Film, GIRAF Festival of Independent Animation, 2021

– 30 –

Associated Links

Victoria Film Festival
Cineflix Media
Rezolution Pictures

French version here | Version française ici.

Media Relations

  • About the NFB

    Founded in 1939, the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is a one-of-a-kind producer, co-producer and distributor of distinctive, engaging, relevant and innovative documentary and animated films. As a talent incubator, it is one of the world’s leading creative centres. The NFB has enabled Canadians to tell and hear each other’s stories for over eight decades, and its films are a reliable and accessible educational resource. The NFB is also recognized around the world for its expertise in preservation and conservation, and for its rich and vibrant collection of works, which form a pillar of Canada’s cultural heritage. To date, the NFB has produced more than 14,000 works, 6,500 of which can be streamed free of charge at nfb.ca. The NFB and its productions and co-productions have earned over 7,000 awards, including 11 Oscars and an Honorary Academy Award for overall excellence in cinema.