1. Media Space

  2. Press Kit

Meneath: The Hidden Island of Ethics

Terril Calder
2021 | 19 min 22 s
Stop-motion animation
English with some Anishinaabemowin

Selections and Awards

  • Official SelectionTIFF - Toronto International Film Festival, Canada (2021)

  • Special Mention - Canadian Film Institute (CFI) Award for Best Canadian AnimationOIAF - Ottawa International Animation Festival, Canada (2021)

  • Audience Award for Top Canadian ShortGIRAF Festival of Independent Animation, Canada (2021)

  • Canada’s Top Ten - ShortsTIFF - Toronto International Film Festival, Canada, (2021)

  • Official Selection - Generation 14plusBerlinale, Germany (2022)

  • Nomination - Best Animated ShortCanadian Screen Awards, Toronto, Canada (2022)

  • Prix spécial du jury- École NAD-UQACSommets du cinéma d'animation, Montreal, Canada (2022)

  • International Jury Special MentionsTricky Women International Women's Animated Film Festival, Vienna, Austria (2022)

  • Animation AwardYorkton Film Festival, Canada (2022)

  • Indigenous AwardYorkton Film Festival, Canada (2022)

  • Official SelectionAnnecy International Animation Film Festival, France (2022)

  • Audience Choice- Best Short Film Cinefest Sudbury, Canada (2022)

  • Trickster AwardSkoden Indigenous Film Festival, Canada (2022)

  • Official SelectionTampere Film Festival, Finland (2022)

More Selections and Awards

Long Synopsis

One liner

Director's Statement

Terril Calder, Métis



Excerpt #1

Excerpt #2




Terril Calder
Writer, Director and Animator

Photo : Julie Artacho

Jelena Popović


Jason Ryle
Consulting Producer


Michael Fukushima
Executive Producer (NFB)

Photo : David Fine

Rob McLaughlin
Executive Producer

Photo : Emily Cooper


Written and Directed by
Terril Calder

Jelena Popović

Consulting Producer
Jason Ryle

Executive Producers
Michael Fukushima
Robert McLaughlin

Gail Maurice

Kent McQuaid

Baby Girl
Lake Delisle

Terril Calder

Jeff Barnaby

Darlene Naponse

Design, Animation and Compositing
Terril Calder

Erik Goulet

Puppets, Sets, Props, Costumes
Terril Calder

Traditional Costume – Baby Girl
Cassandra Cochrane

Lighting Consultant
Nadya Kwandibens

3D Animation
Zane Kozak

Music Composer
Judith Gruber-Stitzer
© 2021 National Film Board of Canada (SOCAN)

Kate Bevan-Baker, violin
François Jalbert, guitar
Sheila Hannigan, cello

Music Mix
François Arbour
Geoffrey Mitchell (NFB)

Sound Design
Sacha Ratcliffe

Karla Baumgardner
assisted by
Rod Thibeault

Foley Recording
Geoffrey Mitchell

Voice Recording
Luc Léger

Jean Paul Vialard
Shelley Craig

Technical Director
Eloi Champagne

Animation Technical Specialist
Randall Finnerty

Online Editor
Serge Verreault

Closing Credits
Cynthia Ouellet

Technical Coordinators
Luc Binette
Mira Mailhot

Studio Administrator
Rosalina Di Sario

Senior Production Coordinator
Dominique Forget

Studio Coordinator
Faisal Moula

Marketing Manager
Judith Lessard-Bérubé

Marketing Coordinator
Jolène Lessard

Anishinaabe Syllabic Chapter Titles
James Vukelich

Anishinaabemowin Translation
Margaret Pollock

Willie J. Ermine, M.Ed.
Tantoo Cardinal
John Christou
Jamie Whitecrow
Brandon Michael Mohammed
Emry Calder
Amanda Roy
Valdimar Brandsson
Adeeb Khan
Geeta Sondhi
Heather Haynes

© 2021 National Film Board of Canada

Media Relations

  • Nadine Viau
    NFB Publicist – Montreal
    C.: 514-458-9745

  • About the NFB

    The National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is a leader in exploring animation as an artform, a storytelling medium and innovative content for emerging platforms. It produces trailblazing animated works both in its Montreal studios and across  the country, and it works with many of the world’s leading creators on international co-productions. NFB productions have won more than 7,000 awards, including seven Oscars for NFB animation and seven grand prizes at the Annecy festival. To access this unique content, visit NFB.ca.