1. Media Space

  2. Press Kit

Trécarré: Exploring the Saint Mary’s Bay Sound

Natalie Robichaud
2024 | 30 min
Original version with English subtitles

Promo Clip






Mary Guptill with director Natalie Robichaud.

Cameron McNamara et Michael Saulnier.

Daniel LeBlanc.

Michael Saulnier.

Briand Melanson.

Director Natalie Robichaud with Mary Guptill.

An overview of great musical families from le Trécarré.

Le Trécarré (Bangor, Saulnierville Station, Pipe Town), brimming with great musical families.

Saulnierville in southwestern Nova Scotia.


Natalie Robichaud

Photo : Charlene d'Entremont

Christine Aubé

Photo : NFB

Nathalie Cloutier
Executive Producer

Photo : Valérie Sangin


A film by
Natalie Robichaud

Produced by
Christine Aubé

Director, Scriptwriter and Researcher
Natalie Robichaud

Director of Photography
Gilles Doiron

Pamela Gallant

Director Mentor and Story Consultant
Anika Lirette

With the participation of
Florence Arnault
Susan Barley
Joanne Belliveau
Josette Beubotin
Jacques Blinn
James Clark
Chad Comeau
David Comeau
Monique Comeau
Reta Comeau
Yvon Comeau
Isabella Cyr
Julia Deal
Sébastien Dol
Helen Doucet
Magdalena Geppert
Marie Girardeau
Mary Guptill
Nora Herskell
Robert Herskell
George Hicks
Laura Hicks
Roberta Journey
Anne Marie LeBlanc
Daniel LeBlanc
Edesse LeBlanc
Sophie LeBlanc
Cameron McNamara
Briand Melanson
Elaine Melanson
Francis Robichaud
Simon Robichaud
Raven Rusch
David Saulnier
Gilles Saulnier
Gloria Saulnier
Janice Saulnier
Jeanne Saulnier
Lydie Saulnier
June Saulnier Melanson
Michael Saulnier
Noah Saulnier
Rose-Marie Saulnier
Russell Saulnier
Timmy Saulnier
Mark Tarmalczyk
Diane Thimot
Elaine Thimot

Jean-Luc Comeau
Nita-Josée Hanna
Nicholas MacLean
Sophie Maillet
François Thibault

Nadine Belliveau
Natalie Robichaud

Sound Recordists, Sound Designers and Re-recording Mixers
Patrick Martin, Alec Victor – Aurum Waves Studio

Narration Recordist
Jacques Blinn – Productions pour le peuple

Online Editor and Colorisation
Serge Verreault

Graphic Designer
Mélanie Bouchard

Yvette Comeau


Simon Meilleur

Foley Recordist
Geoffrey Mitchell

Archival and Music Research and Clearances
Emma Brunet – LaNégo

Original Music
Daniel LeBlanc
© 2024 National Film Board of Canada (SOCAN)

Composer Mentor
Jean-François Mallet

Jacques Blinn
David Comeau
Yvon Comeau
Sébastien Dol
Daniel LeBlanc
Cameron McNamara
Briand Melanson
David Saulnier
Gloria Saulnier
Michael Saulnier
Russell Saulnier
Timmy Saulnier

Additional Music

« C’est la vie »
Normand Pothier, Michael Saulnier

« Daybreak in Dixie »
Ralph Stanley
© Fort Knox Music Co., Trio Music Company

« Enfant Spécial »
Alexandre Bilodeau, Jacques Alphonse Doucet, Gabriel Malenfant
© Third Side Music

« Fatigué »
Michael Saulnier

« Just For What I Am »
Dallas Frazier, Arthur Leo Owens
© Sony ATV, Unichappell Music

« La match »
Denis Comeau

« Le reel à Jacques »
Jacques Comeau, Daniel LeBlanc, Briand Melanson

« Les bateaux dans la baie »
Jonah Richard Guimond
© Les Éditions Bonsound

« Les p’tites cabanes »
Baptiste Comeau

« Lucky One »
Robert Lee Castleman
© Farm Use Only Music

« Lupines »
Jacques Blinn, Jonah Guimond
© Les Éditions Bonsound

« Ma tête »
Normand Pothier, Michael Saulnier

« Margo »
Albert LeBlanc

« Notre retour »
Julien Weaver

« Poésie à la Baie »
Normand LeBlanc

« Rat d’tchais »
Denis Comeau

« Running Hard On A Broken Heart »
Charles A. Costantino

« Too Late To Cry »
John Harold Pennell
© Happy Valley Music, Solargrass Music

« Vivre à la Baie »
Kenneth Saulnier
© Les Éditions Sans Non, Frank Furtado Pub., Les Éditions Gabbro (SOCAN)

Archival material
Elaine Agatha Comeau
George Comeau
Germaine Comeau
Phil Comeau
Denise Comeau Desautels
Rose Cormier
Charlene d’Entremont
Luc d’Eon
Sébastien Dol
Frédéric Matte, Le Soleil
Rachelle Richard Léger
David Saulnier
Rose Marie Saulnier
Elaine Melanson

Centre acadien of the Université Sainte-Anne
Conseil de la Nouvelle-Écosse Archives
CTV News Stox/Bell Media Inc.
Radio-Canada Archives
Wheeling Jamboree Museum Digital Archives

Clips from « Johnny à Dennis à Alfred » (1975) « Son des Français d’Amérique »
Listed at the UNESCO Memory of the World International Register
Co-direction Michel Brault and André Gladu

Show « Étoiles du CSAP 2023 »,
produced by FéCANE and directed by Valentin Alfano

Thanks to
Marcel Aymar
Alexandre Arthur Bilodeau
Arcade Comeau
Phil Comeau
Roger Gervais
André Gladu
Brennan Gough
Céleste Huchet
Rachelle LeBlanc
Renette Robichaud
Richard Robichaud
François Thibault

Bangor Sawmill
Clare Golf and Country Club
Le Richelieu, La Butte
Seashore Restaurant, Meteghan
Société acadienne de Clare Board of Directors
Université Sainte-Anne, Pointe-de-l’Église

Marketing Manager
Nathalie Guérard

Line Producer
Geneviève Duguay

Sia Koukoulas

Senior Production Coordinator
Audrey Rétho

Technical Coordinator
Jean-François Laprise

Video Technical Support
Pierre Dupont
Patrick Trahan
Albert Kurian

Audio Technical Support
Bernard Belley

Legal Counsel
Julie Patry

Christine Aubé

Executive Producer
Nathalie Cloutier

Union des artistes – UDA
Directors Guild of Canada – Guilde canadienne des réalisateur⸱trices
Société des auteur.e.trice.s de radio, télévision et cinéma (SARTEC)
Canadian Federation of Musicians – Fédération canadienne des musiciens

Exploring the Saint Mary’s Bay Sound

A production of
the National Film Board of Canada


© 2024 National Film Board of Canada

Media Relations

  • About the NFB

    Founded in 1939, the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is a one-of-a-kind producer, co-producer and distributor of distinctive, engaging, relevant and innovative documentary and animated films. As a talent incubator, it is one of the world’s leading creative centres. The NFB has enabled Canadians to tell and hear each other’s stories for over eight decades, and its films are a reliable and accessible educational resource. The NFB is also recognized around the world for its expertise in preservation and conservation, and for its rich and vibrant collection of works, which form a pillar of Canada’s cultural heritage. To date, the NFB has produced more than 14,000 works, 6,500 of which can be streamed free of charge at nfb.ca. The NFB and its productions and co-productions have earned over 7,000 awards, including 11 Oscars and an Honorary Academy Award for overall excellence in cinema.