1. Media Space

  2. Press Kit


Colin MacKenzie and Aparna Kapur
2019 | 15 min

Selections and Awards

  • Official SelectionFIN Atlantic International Film Festival, Halifax, Nova Scotia (2019)

  • Official SelectionSt. John’s International Women’s Film Festival, St. John's, Newfoundland & Labrador (2019)





Colin Mackenzie
Writer and Director
Photo : Stephan Ballard

Colin Mackenzie

Colin Mackenzie is an award-winning storyteller working in a range of genres, from documentary films to music videos. As a filmmaker, he’s had a long collaborative association with master drummer Jerry Granelli, directing an award-winning experimental film with the musician at its centre, followed by a CBC documentary that more fully explored Granelli’s artistic journey. Colin’s subject matter varies greatly, from a skateboard/dance documentary for the BRAVO network to the short film Cogswell, based on a one-woman play by writer/broadcaster Stephanie Domet. Colin has also produced radio documentaries for the CBC’s Inside the Music, as well as a series of podcasts that retold the stories of Canada’s WWII veterans, created for The Memory Project and aired on CBC Radio One.

Aparna Kapur
Writer and Director
Photo : Stephan Ballard

Aparna Kapur

Aparna Kapur is a Vancouver-based filmmaker originally from New Delhi, India. Her 2008 graduation film, Amma, won the Best Emerging Canadian Filmmaker Award at the CFC Worldwide Short Film Festival. A lovingly hand-drawn animated short, the film is about a young girl’s life and her magical connection to her grandmother. After completing her foundation year in Bangalore, India, Aparna studied sculpture in Atlanta, Georgia. Her love of storytelling led her to pursue film and animation at the Emily Carr Institute of Art and Design. Balakrishna is the first film she’s co-directed, and her first NFB-produced project.

Kat Baulu
Photo : NFB

Kat Baulu

As a creative producer at the National Film Board of Canada (NFB), Kat Baulu supports auteurs working on documentary, animation and interactive projects. Her inspiration comes from raising underrepresented voices and generating stories with social impact. She produced Jobie Weetaluktuk’s award-winning documentary Timuti, filmed in his hometown of Inukjuak. Kat has collaborated with celebrated Indigenous artists and filmmakers such as Nadia Myre, Courtney Montour, Tracey Deer, Michelle Smith and Paul M. Rickard.

Kat is currently launching the short experimental documentary Three Thousand, directed by Asinnajaq (a.k.a. Isabella Rose Weetaluktuk), and the hand-drawn animated film SHAMAN, by first-time filmmaker Echo Henoche.

Annette Clarke
Executive Producer
Photo : NFB

Annette Clarke

As executive producer of the English Quebec and Atlantic Studio, Annette Clarke leads a team committed to an ambitious story slate. Recent credits include How to Be at Home, a pandemic-themed animated shortFar Away From Far Awaylong-form interactive story for mobile devices; and Assholes: A Theory, a topical treatise on bad behaviourCurrent projects include the feature doc Seguridada look at patriarchy inside post-revolutionary Cuba, and Dear Audrey, a beautiful and unusual love story.  


Written and Directed by
Colin MacKenzie and Aparna Kapur

Very Special Thanks
Winton Cook

Art Director and Animator
Aparna Kapur

Additional Animation and Compositing
Elise Simard
Claire Blanchet

Story Consultant
Shandi Mitchell

Picture Editor
Susan Shanks

Voice of Winton Cook
Grady Ainscough

Voice Direction
Teri Snelgrove

Original Music and Sound Design
Judith Gruber-Stitzer

Assistant Sound Editor
Sandy Pinteus


David Gossage

Veenha & Guitar
Joe Grass

Bass Saxophone
Jason Sharp

Additional Music
composed by David Gossage 2019 (SOCAN)
and reproduced by permission

Live Action Unit – Kerala, India

Director of Photography
Santosh Sivan

Assistant Camera
Sojan Vn

Production Manager
Milind Verekar

Location Manager
Anirudh Menon

Consulting Elephant Biologist
Nibha Namboodiri

Technical Coordinator Project and Shooting Equipment Specialist
Steve Hallé

Documentary Interview Recording – Halifax
Allan Scarth

Karla Baumgardner

Foley and Music Recording
Geoff Mitchell

Voice Recording
The Mix Room

Audio Engineer
Jamie Mahaffey

Technical Director
Eloi Champagne

Technical Animation Coordinator
Randall Finnerty

Post-Production Coordinators
Daniel Lord
Jean-François Laprise

Technical Coordinator
Christopher MacIntosh

Digital Technical Coordinators
Isabelle Painchaud
Pierre Dupont
Patrick Trahan

Colin MacKenzie
Vincenzo Ravina
Ashley Corbett

Visual Archives
CBC Archives
Eric Hogan
Archives National Film Board of Canada
Nova Scotia Archives
Robert Nunn

The Chronicle Herald
Colin MacKenzie
John Gray
Lilly Zink
Mary Moland
Pramod Jolly
Winton Cook

Rights Clearance
Hélène Dubé

Bruce Alcock & Tina Ouellette
Claire Blanchet
Donald McWilliams
Firas Momani
Fred Casia
Michael Crummey

Dyane Provost

Mélanie Bouchard
Cynthia Ouellette

Online Editor
Denis Pilon

Jean Paul Vialard

Production Coordinator
Christine Williams

Senior Production Coordinator
Camila Blos

Production Manager Trainee
Marian Rebeiro

Studio Administrator
Leslie Anne Poyntz

Marketing Manager
Johanna Lessard

Patricia Dillon-Moore

Legal Counsel
Christian Pitchen

Associate Producer
Teri Snelgrove

Associate Producers
Mylène Augustin
Jon Montes

Maral Mohammadian

Kat Baulu

Executive Producer
Annette Clarke

Executive Director, English Program
Michelle van Beusekom

Press Relations

  • About the NFB

    The NFB is Canada’s public producer and distributor of award-winning documentaries, auteur animation, interactive stories and participatory experiences, working with talented creators across the country. The NFB is taking action to combat systemic racism and become a more open and diverse organization, while working to strengthen Indigenous-led production and gender equity in film and digital media. NFB productions have won more than 7,000 awards, including 12 Oscars. To access this unique content, visit NFB.ca.