1. Media Space

  2. Press Kit


Cam Christiansen
2017 | 82 min 31 s

Selections and Awards

  • Official SelectionCalgary International Film Festival 2017

  • Official SelectionSommets du cinéma d’animation- Montréal 2017

  • Official SelectionSanta Barbara International Film Festival - 2018

  • Official Selection - Feature Film Annecy 2018

  • Official SelectionCPH:DOX (Copenhagen International Documentary Film Festival 2018)

  • Competition - Feature FilmsAnima Mundi International Animation Festival Brazil 2018

  • Official SelectionEdinburgh International Film Festival 2018

  • Official SelectionAnimix Festival Tel Aviv 2018

  • Official SelectionCinanima International Festival Portugal 2018

  • Official SelectionDoclands San Francisco USA 2018


Short Synopsis

Building a WALL

An unlikely creative journey

Up against the WALL

Promotional Materials



Clip #1A

Clip #1B

Clip #2

Clip #3

Clip #4

Clip #5

Clip #6

Clip #7


Mark Power
Photo: Mark Power

Left to right: Cam Christiansen, Elliot Levey, Tracy Ann Oberman, David Hare, David Schneider, Sara Kestelman.


Cam Christiansen

Photo : Jennifer Rowsom

David Hare
Writer/Featured Subject

Photo : Walter Van Dyk

Bonnie Thompson
Producer (NFB)

Photo : Debbie Boccabella

David Christensen
Producer & Executive Producer



Written by
David Hare

Directed and Animated by
Cam Christiansen

David Christensen
Bonnie Thompson

Executive Producer
David Christensen

Based on the play
by David Hare
first produced on stage
at the Royal Court Theatre, London
and at the Public Theatre, New York,
directed by Stephen Daldry,
published by Faber and Faber.

In association with Anlanda Films
Producer for Anlanda Films
Cam Christiansen

Art Direction/Concept Artist
Cam Christiansen

Cam Christiansen

Sergey Solokhin

Lead Animator/Production Manager
Mitch Barany

Lead Animator
Price Morgan

Niranjan Kailainathan
Deepak Kumar
Tyler Lemermeyer
Gregory Marshall
Joe Sie

William Dyer

2D Classical animation
Eleanor Goldberg

Banff Centre Work Student Animators
Court Brinsmead
Devan Burton

With the support of the
The Banff Centre
Kerry Stauffer, Executive Director
Jean Macpherson, Manager of Programs and Production

David Hare as David Hare
Elliot Levey as Steven
Nayef Rashed as Afif
Ammar Haj Ahmad as Salman Tamar
Atta Alzweidi as Prisoner/various
Phillip Arditi as Raja Shehadeh
Amir Boutros as Palestinian torturer/various
Sam Cox as Neill Ochery
Paul Jesson as David Grossman
Sara Kestelman as Tel Aviv Friend
Nicholas le Prevost as Sari Nusseibeh
Imran Mraish as Ramallah Storyteller
Tracy Ann Oberman as Tel Aviv Friend
Raad Rawi as George Ibrahim
David Schneider as Tel Aviv Friend
Karzan Sherabayani as Adly Daish
Lauren Silver as Israeli Soldier
Aviv Teller as Israeli Soldier

Voice Actors:
John Watson as Tamar Salman/various
Michael Haddad as Raja Shehadeh/various

Participants (Banff shoot)
Roman Golad
Samir Bouzourene
Naor Cohen
Caitlin Leonard
Dexter Bateman
Morgan Bateman
Martin Finnerty
Dominic Girard
Sarah Hawcroft
Morna Stephensson
Sam Wald

Production services Israel and Palestine:
Noam Shalev – Highlight Films
Sound Recordists Israel: Amir Shmueli and Elad Goldi
Sound recordist Palestine: Shiraz Rishmawi
Production coordination Israel: Karin Neumann and Daniel Raz
Production coordination Palestine: Raghad Mukarkar and Hanna Abu Saada
Technical supervisor Israel: Itay Mintz

UK Casting Directors
Alastair Coomer
Juliet Horsley

UK Legal Services
Goslings (UK) LLP

Centroid Motion Capture, Pinewood
Phil Stilgoe: Performance Capture Producer
Stoo Haskayne: Perfromance Capture Supervisor
Mike Hedges: Facial Capture Technician
Iain Silvester: Motion Capture Coordinator
Kadel Barton: Senior Motion Capture Technician
Matt Parker: Motion Capture Technician
Jaleesa Tonge: Motion Capture Assistant
Eddie Ellis: Motion Capture Post Production Manager
Gary Hewson: Post Production Assistant
Goran Kimitrijevic: Motion Capture Tracking Manager
Igor Kovacevic: God of Tracking
Milos Knezevic: Tracker
Jelena Mitrovic: Tracker
Zoran Muncan: Tracker
Nenad Milosavljevic: Tracker
Nenad Milosavljevic: Tracker
Jugoslav Stojanov: Programmer

Sound Designer
Daniel Pellerin DSP

James Mark Stewart

End credits song
Written by
with music by Tyler and Greg

Re-recording Mixer
Serge Boivin

Online Editor
Serge Verreault

Elizabeth Klinck / E. Klinck Research
Scot Morison
Archival Audio
Rabin speech
Highlight Films, Israel
Arafat speech
Rick Ray/Shutterstock.com
Audio used under license from Shutterstock.com

Michal Lavi

Technical Support
Mohammed El-Haji

Jacques Bertrand Simard

Hebrew – Larissa German
Arabic- Nora Dessouki

Christian Pitchen

The director dedicates this to
Marie Christiansen

The director thanks
Maureen Hodgan
Wendy Millward
Stephen Paget
Peter Williams
Gunner Christiansen
Bill Hodgan
Barry Hodgan
Trent Victor
Gunilla Victor
Ossian Victor
Rasmus Victor
Stella Victor
Michal Lavi
Aviv Fried
Wendy Tilby
Amanda Forbis
Toti Gestland
Cole Binder

Thanks to
Jenne Cassarotto and Nicholas Horne
Stephen Daldry
Oskar Eustis
Nicholas Hytner
Elyse Dogdson
George Ibrahim and staff at the Al Kasaba Cinema, Ramallah
David Grossman
Raja Shehadeh
Colin Curwen, New Machine Studios, Calgary
Tom Perlmutter
Cindy Witten
Lorne Price
Llewellyn Browne

Production Coordinators
Ginette D‘Silva
Jasmine Pullukatt
Faye Yoneda

Production Supervisors
Mark Power
Esther Viragh

Program Administrators
Bree Beach
Ginette D’Silva

Marketing Manager
Leslie Stafford

Centre Operations Manager
Darin Clausen

Executive Director of English Programming
Michelle Van Beusekom


Media Relations

  • About the NFB

    The National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is a leader in exploring animation as an artform, a storytelling medium and innovative content for emerging platforms. It produces trailblazing animated works both in its Montreal studios and across  the country, and it works with many of the world’s leading creators on international co-productions. NFB productions have won more than 7,000 awards, including seven Oscars for NFB animation and seven grand prizes at the Annecy festival. To access this unique content, visit NFB.ca.