1. Media Space

  2. Press Kit


Torill Kove
2017 | 8 min 49 s
Animation Technique: Digital 2D

Selections and Awards

  • Official Selection - ShortcutsToronto International Film Festival 2017

  • Canadian Panorama - Official SelectionOttawa International Animation Festival 2017

  • Official Selection - Generation KPlusBerlinale 2018

  • Official Selection Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival 2018

  • Official Selection Animation NOW! New Zealand International Film Festival 2018

  • Official Selection 31st Helsinki International Film Festival 2018

  • Special PrizeInternational Animation Festival in Japan, Hiroshima 2018

  • Honorable Mention - AnimationSalute Your Shorts Festival, Los Angeles 2018

  • Short Animation Film AwardFestival Internacional de Cine Para Ninos, Mexico City 2018

  • Official Selection24th Sarajevo Film Festival 2018


Short Synopsis

Long Synopsis


On the NFB Blog


Promotional Materials



Torill Kove
Photo : Agnete Brun/ Copyright Mikrofilm AS

Torill Kove

Torill Kove is an award-winning director, animator and illustrator. She was born and raised in Norway and now lives in Montreal with her family. She obtained a master’s degree in Urban Planning at McGill University and later studied animation at Concordia University, where she won the Kodak Student Award for her films All You Can EatFallen Angel and Squash and Stretch. Torill made her directorial debut in 1999 with My Grandmother Ironed the King’s Shirts, which was nominated for an Academy Award®. Her next film, The Danish Poet, was narrated by Liv Ullmann and won the Oscar® for Best Animated Short in 2006 as well as a Genie Award. She then followed with Me and My Moulton, which won Best Animated Short at the 2015 Canadian Screen Awards and was also nominated for an Academy Award. Torill’s latest film, Threads, will be released in 2017. Her last three films were all co-produced by Norwegian Mikrofilm AS and the NFB. In 2013, Torill directed the animated feature film Hokus Pokus Alfie Atkins. She has also illustrated nine picture books, three of which she authored.

Michael Fukushima
Producer (NFB)

Michael Fukushima

Michael Fukushima has been making films since 1984. He joined the NFB in 1990 to direct the animated documentary Minoru: Memory of Exile (1992), winner of the Hot Docs Best Short Documentary award. Michael became an NFB animation producer in 1997, co-founding the NFB’s flagship emerging filmmaker program, Hothouse, in 2002 and was appointed executive producer of the NFB’s fabled Animation Studio in 2013.

Some notable films in his filmography include Genie Award winner cNote (2004), by Chris Hinton; Shira Avni’s animated documentary Tying Your Own Shoes (2009), which won the Golden Dove at DOK Leipzig and the prestigious NHK Japan Prize; Muybridge’s Strings (2011), by Oscar-nominated Japanese filmmaker Koji Yamamura; Oscar-nominated films Dimanche (2011), by Patrick Doyon, and Me and My Moulton (2014), by Torill Kove; and, most recently, Cordell Barker’s If I Was God… and Ann Marie Fleming’s Window Horses. Michael now mostly produces the producers and offers up sagacity, but he continues to keep his hand in—this year, on the first short film in two decades by Oscar winners Alison Snowden and David Fine, and on Oscar winner Torill Kove’s new film, Threads.

Lise Fearnley
Producer (Mikrofilm AS)
Photo : Felix Features/ Copyright Mikrofilm AS

Lise Fearnley

Lise Fearnley was born in 1969 in Oslo, Norway. She studied photography, film and animation. She began her animation career as Director of Photography for puppet master Pjotr Sapegin at Studio Magica. After a few years, she started working as a producer, and in 1996 she co-founded Mikrofilm AS with Kajsa Næss. Lise has been Mikrofilm’s CEO and producer since the start. She first collaborated with Torill Kove and the NFB on Kove’s The Danish Poet. Lise and Mikrofilm have produced a number of independent short films, as well as documentaries and a feature film. The company also does commissioned films. Lise is one of Norway’s most experienced animation producers.

Tonje Skar Reiersen
Producer (Mikrofilm AS)
Photo : Felix Features/ Copyright Mikrofilm AS

Tonje Skar Reiersen

Tonje has been with Mikrofilm since 2011, first as production manager, and later as a producer. She has produced a number of short films.

She has also worked as programmer, editor and festival producer of events such as The Norwegian International Film Festival and Films from the South festival, and as researcher and junior producer on documentaries at Skofteland Film.

Tonje has a Master’s degree in Film and Media Studies from University of Oslo and Stockholm University and has published articles and analyses of fiction film in several Norwegian journals.


Directed by
Torill Kove

Torill Kove
Josefine Hannibal

Torill Kove

Clouds and Colour Consultant
Anne Ashton

Kristian Pedersen
Cathinka Tanberg

Assistant Animator
Sunniva Fluge Hole

Technical Consultant
Andreas Paleologos

Original Music
Kevin Dean (socan © 2017)

Kevin Dean

Jeff Johnston

Michel Lambert
Greg Ritchie

Music Studio
Pollack Hall, Schulich School of Music, McGill University, Montreal       

Recording Engineer
Jack Kelly

Sound Design
Luigi Allemano

Foley recording
Geoffrey Mitchell
Karla Baumgardner

Jean Paul Vialard

Simen Gengenbach (NFK)

Online Editing
Serge Verreault

NFB Technical
Steve Hallé
Randall Finnerty
Candice Desormeaux
Eloi Champagne

NFB Administration
Dominique Forget
Rosalina Di Sario
Victoire-Émilie Bessette
Jon Montes

Lise Fearnley
Tonje Skar Reiersen
Michael Fukushima

Thank you
Runa Kove
Kajsa Næss
Marcy Page
Rut Hermannsdóttir
Everyone at Mikrofilm

Production Baby
Stian Skar Skuterud

Commissioning Editor NFI
Kari Moen Kristiansen

Senior Advisor Production NFI
Bjørn Arne Odden
Fridrik Mar

Produced with support from
The Norwegian Film Institute
Fritt ord foundation

a co-production of
Mikrofilm AS
The National Film Board of Canada 





European Sales and Distribution

Press Relations

  • Nadine Viau
    NFB Publicist – Montreal
    C.: 514-458-9745

  • About the NFB

    The National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is a leader in exploring animation as an artform, a storytelling medium and innovative content for emerging platforms. It produces trailblazing animated works both in its Montreal studios and across  the country, and it works with many of the world’s leading creators on international co-productions. NFB productions have won more than 7,000 awards, including seven Oscars for NFB animation and seven grand prizes at the Annecy festival. To access this unique content, visit NFB.ca.

  • About Mikrofilm

    Mikrofilm is a multi award-winning production and animation company located in Oslo Norway. We are passionate about animation. That may be why our productions have won international acclaim several times, the most profiled probably the Oscar for the Academy®-Award winning film The Danish Poet (2007). Mikrofilm has solid experience producing both independent and commissioned work. Since 1996, we have worked and consulted on numerous projects: documentaries, commercials, short films, info-films, title sequences and music videos. We are proud to be working with some of the best people in the industry, and use our experience and passion to constantly push the limits and create new, animated experiences for the viewing public.

    Visit mikrofilm.no to learn more.