1. Media Space

  2. Press Kit

I Like Girls

Diane Obomsawin
2016 | 8 min 12 s
Technique: Computer animation and rotoscopy.

Prizes and awards

  • Official SelectionSundance Film Festival, Park City, Utah, USA (2018)

  • Best Animated Short SelectionCanadian Screen Awards 2017

  • Official SelectionAnnecy 2017

  • Official SelectionPalm Springs International ShortFest 2017

  • Official SelectionImagineNATIVE 2017

  • Best LGBT ShortNew York City Short Film Festival (NYC Shorts) 2017

  • GRAND PRIZE - Cartoon Network Award for Best Narrative Short AnimationOttawa International Animation Film Festival

  • Official SelectionCinequest Film & VR Festival 2017

  • Official SelectionMostra La Ploma 2018


Interview with Diane Obomsawin


Meet the Filmmaker...

Promotional Materials



Diane Obomsawin
Script, Animation, Direction

Photo : Rehab Nazzal

Marc Bertrand
Producer (NFB)

Photo : NFB

Julie Roy
Executive Producer (NFB)

Photo : NFB


Script, Animation, Direction
Diane Obomsawin

Amy Donovan
Holly Gauthier Frankel
Julie Burroughs
Valerie Mervis

Kathleen Fee

Sound Design and Original Music
Judith Gruber-Stitzer

Compositing and Animation
Janet Perlman

Offline Editing
Augustin Rioux

William J. Gossage
Judith Gruber-Stitzer
Christine Tassan

Voice Editing
Pierre Yves Drapeau
Catherine Van Der Donckt
Tristan Capacchione

Monique Vézina

Geoffrey Mitchell
Padraig Buttner-Schnirer

Jean Paul Vialard

“Le temps de l’amour”
Composed by Jacques Dutronc, Lucien Jean Morisse, André Michel Charles Salvet
Éditions musicales Alpha and Les éditions Ad Litteram Inc.
Performed by Françoise Hardy
By arrangement with Sony Music Entertainment Canada Inc.

Copyright Clearance
Lucie Bourgouin for Permission Inc.

Technical Director
Pierre Plouffe

Technical Coordinator
Daniel Lord

Production Coordinator
Michèle Labelle

Online Editing
Yannick Carrier

Live-Action Shoots and Rotoscoping

Marie-Ève Carrière
Marie-Gabrielle Ménard
Marie-Hélène Montpetit

Director of Photography
Éric Barbeau

Production Manager
Khoa Lê

Production Assistant
Patrick Bouchard

Props Person
Nancy Belzile

Thanks to
Laura Babin
Lou Babin
Lili Rose Babin
Lou Beaulieu
Martin Bellemare
Anne-Marie Cadieux
Marie Charlebois
Renée Cossette
Helge Dascher
Mathilde Geromin
Fanny Jane
Alice Moreault
Mylène Savoie
Élise Simard
Laurie St-Jacques
Hélène Tanguay

Marketing Manager
Geneviève Bérard

Diane Régimbald

Administrative Team
Diane Ayotte
Karine Desmeules

Executive Producer
Julie Roy

Marc Bertrand

Animation Studio / French Program


Media Relations

  • Nadine Viau
    NFB Publicist – Montreal
    C.: 514-458-9745

  • About the NFB

    The National Film Board of Canada (NFB) is a leader in exploring animation as an artform, a storytelling medium and innovative content for emerging platforms. It produces trailblazing animated works both in its Montreal studios and across  the country, and it works with many of the world’s leading creators on international co-productions. NFB productions have won more than 7,000 awards, including seven Oscars for NFB animation and seven grand prizes at the Annecy festival. To access this unique content, visit NFB.ca.